PDA

View Full Version : Career advice...

PonymanfiveO
02-06-2007, 09:45 AM
I have a lot on my mind right now and I could use the opinions of my friends.
So please read and post what you think...

I have been working in the production facility of Coca-Cola for over six years now and I pretty much like everything about my job. We make good money, insurance is damn good, and were union. Heres the bad stuff. I have absolutly no seniority after six years of service. Due to job elimination and downsizing they have been making everyone work harder and it is keeping me from advincing up the chain. The upper management of Coke is basicly trying to destroy the union and basicly treat their employees like shit. I am never on a single shift. I get bounced between three shifts on a weekly basis (because I have no seniority to go where I want) its hard to sleep and have a personal life like this.

I have been offered a job with Samuel Adams brewing company downtown and I cant decide if I want it or not. I would be in the same union, and they make a little bit more on the hour than I do now...buuut... I would have to start out at $12 an hour. Thats over six dollars an hour less than I make now, and I would not be back up to scale pay for three years. Thats hard to swallow. I talked to the union president and he says they treat their people with a lot more respect than Coke does. He said they hardly ever file grievances or see write-ups. They are a smaller crew and the turnover rate is pretty high, so I would probably get some seniority pretty quickly. They work a looot too. allmost always five to six, ten hour days a week, every week.
I dont know if I could stand to work that much during the summer.
oh, and they give you free beer too.:D

what do I do????:confused:

Pops Fun
02-06-2007, 09:57 AM
Hi
It is really up to you. I see a couple things in what you said.

You have a decent job (do you see a change is 5 years or so)

Pay cut is hard to take. Only you can answer that.