PDA

View Full Version : new amp w/ subs for our car.

MRGRIMM
04-05-2007, 11:01 AM
My girl Stephanie drives a 00 grand am gt. She has a pair of JBL 10" subs she wanted to put in it so I went and bought an 800w sony explode amp and a wiring kit. I started to install the equipment, but no RCA plugins are on the factory headunit. I do not want to buy a new head unit because this vehicle has steering wheel controls for the audio which she loves, and I think that feature would be lost if a new unit was installed. The factory system is a MONSOON system that does have a factory amp. Such things as an in-line convertor for the RCA's to run from the rear speakers to the amp have been suggested to me, along with just tapping into the ports on the plug in on the factory amp...I am kind of lost here, I guess I need to keep the factory amp and just use the new amp to power the subs? I have little experience in car audio, any help or suggestions would be great because she has been looking foward to using these subwoofers for a while now, and now the time comes and it's not as straight foward of an install as I assumed it would be.

black90lx
04-05-2007, 11:25 AM
you can buy an adapter from meijer that lets you splice into the factory speaker wire and it has converts it to RCA out puts. i have never used them so i dont know how they work. i think it is only like $15 or $20

MRGRIMM
04-05-2007, 08:30 PM
thanks, I guess I will try that...seems to be what others do as well

ibstrokin
04-06-2007, 12:23 AM
If your amp has hi level inputs,you dont need the adapter. If you do buy the adapter,Best Buy sells quality units,I beleive the part # is sni35.

black90lx
04-06-2007, 09:27 AM
If your amp has hi level inputs,you dont need the adapter. If you do buy the adapter,Best Buy sells quality units,I beleive the part # is sni35.

i completely forgot about them :HYF:

PKFIRE
04-06-2007, 01:09 PM