PDA

View Full Version : polishing aluminum

beentryin
08-02-2008, 08:27 PM
im trying to polish my valve cover this is my first attempt:mad:.
i got the light polishing compound and a sewn wheel its on my grinder:confused:i just cant get it to pop like i want any tips

excopcar
08-03-2008, 05:06 PM
dam dogg get it on with the polish dogg.big b here:bounce:heres daniels bed bug:flipoff:

mustangjon
08-03-2008, 10:01 PM
you need multiple buffs and compounds.. start course with a double sewn wheel, moved to single sewn for finer compound.. always clean buffs between compound change too.. takes a long time :(

beentryin
08-03-2008, 10:37 PM
well i got a fine compound today and another wheel its looking a lil better

INSANEBA
08-05-2008, 10:09 PM
I always start with a black emry rouge, and a double sewn wheel. After I have a mirror finish, I top it off with a white diamond rouge, and a softer wheel. That's where it will pop. The white brightens it sooo much! This ofcourse comes after hours of prep work, and yes it SUCKS!!!lol... But well worth it in my opinion...

INSANEBA
08-05-2008, 10:13 PM
Here's a set I did for my brother. I know the pic is a little dark, but you get the idea. One is finished, the other is only prepped. I dont quit until I can read extra fine print in my work lol...seriously...

http://i223.photobucket.com/albums/dd80/INSANEBA/Brandonsstuff001.jpg

WARMACHINE
08-09-2008, 07:20 PM
I'm no pro by any means,but i've had real good luck by wet sanding with 2000 and then going through the buffing steps. It goes real quick and looks like a mirror.

DeckerEnt
08-09-2008, 07:39 PM
I have a set of stock aluminum valve covers that are getting the polish thing. We started today with some 320 grit dry sandpaper. I could clear them right now and they would look satin finished. Going to get some finer paper, may wet sand, then polish with cloth wheels on a drill and then clear them so they stay looking good. Should look killer after I paint my cobra upper black.