PDA

View Full Version : Home builders...ANYBODY??

69Cobra
01-14-2009, 12:19 AM
Hey guys we are looking to build this year and I'm trying to weight out weather or not to just hire a builder or run everything through me. I'm a master electrician/project manager and I've worked in the construction industry for the past 14 years so the question isn't weather or not I can perform the task its weather or not the head ache is worth the money you'll save? Anybody been there done that?

Black92LX
01-14-2009, 10:26 AM
Run everything through YOU!!!!!!

Just got done building a house myself. We chose to use a builder. Next time there is no doubt we will be contracting it out ourselves.
You Defiantly will save money and have more options and better oversight.
You will have headaches either way.
Biggest thing I did not like was not having the ability to fire the subcontractors.
And trust me there were quite a few that would have been fired on the spot had I contracted them out.

Black Horse
01-14-2009, 11:02 AM
The good thing about being your own General Contractor is you have control over everything. The bad thing is you may not have the resources to get your job done.

Personally I would hire a General Contractor as they have Sub-Contractors that they deal with on a daily basis and can get you the best scheduling available (not to mention the best pricing). Doing it yourself you may not be able to get the right crew, or if you do you may end up waiting until they have a lull (or paying for several full days of work when they only are able to do partial days works because you didnt get something else done on time). Remeber you are just one build, most business would rather deal with a GC that will be doing multiple builds and can plan a steady workflow.