PDA

View Full Version : anybody work on old tractors?

Camaro86SHOCKER
01-21-2010, 03:22 AM
I have an old ford tractor that just recently started not wanting to start, its getting fuel but i think spark is the issue. I know nothing about the old points style ignition on it.
its a 40's full size ford 4-cyl. if anyone knows how to work on these or knows anyone who does please let me know.

mustangrfast88
01-21-2010, 04:00 AM
my dad has a old ford that we have worked on and he has a place that he gets all his parts from there not to had to work on

85_SS_302_Coupe
01-21-2010, 08:51 AM
I know a guy out in Mt. Orab who's restoring an old Ford tractor...i'll get his number for you.

facemelter71
01-21-2010, 10:20 AM
I got my dads old 801 powermaster running.Sounds to me kinda like a points and condenser issue.I have gone through two sets of them on his tractor.And if it has been switched to 12 volt then it kinda likes to eat them up from time to time.But this weekend ill be switching his over to Pertronics ignition.

tcorns
01-21-2010, 02:36 PM
points and condenser should be a start. when was the last time it ran and for how long. ford engines are bad for not being sealed well and if the air has been moist they can be a pain in the butt to start. i am to the point that i don't even mess with it during the winter. hopefully i will correct most of the issues over the next few weeks when i drag the 9n in to rebuild the engine.

what model, 6 or 12 volt, last maintenance, front or side mount distributor?

trev

mustang8998
01-21-2010, 08:55 PM
..... this weekend ill be switching his over to Pertronics ignition.

Smartest "mod" you can do and no-one will ever know!

Black Horse
01-22-2010, 09:01 AM
The old Fords are definately know for points and condensor issues. I have a Ferguson with the same basic set-up and carry a spare set with me. Good thing about the points, you can about set the gap by eye!

INSANEBA
01-22-2010, 09:52 AM
PM'ed ya!

facemelter71
01-22-2010, 10:36 AM