PDA

View Full Version : Tips on starting a new forum

306Power
11-09-2010, 04:30 AM
Been awhile since I've posted here, been trying to set up my own car forum. I'm not looking to advertise what so ever on here, wont even mention the sites name. I'm just curious if anybody has any tips on getting more activity with it? It's a local based car forum that me and a few buddies created a month or so ago. It probably isnt the most appealing to the eye yet as I'm pretty new to working with things like this. If you have any tips or suggestions I would gladly appreciate it. If you do wanna know the site name to check it out and critique it or just join you could PM me and I'll send you the link there. Dont wanna make anybody upset about advertising on the actual forum. Thanks!

Katmandu
11-09-2010, 12:49 PM
Is it a any make/model forum ?

Check out what the guys up North here have going on.

www.SRDayton.com

Gene
11-09-2010, 01:14 PM
The way that Vinny and Co. got the word out for Stangbangerz was by putting business cards with the site's name on cool looking Mustangs around town. Then he organized a couple of cruise-ins, dyno days, that sort of thing to get people to meet each other in person, and once the membership reached a critical mass, the site just grew by word-of-mouth.

The other important thing is to give people a reason to come to your site. What does it provide that SBZ, CSS or NKYFBA or whatever doesn't? The signal-to-noise ratio is critical. Stangbangerz grew because people liked what people were saying. If you don't have that, no one will hang around for long.

k062693w
11-09-2010, 01:28 PM
Stangbangerz grew because people liked what people were saying. If you don't have that, no one will hang around for long.

:bigthumb

306Power
11-09-2010, 04:49 PM
Is it a any make/model forum ?

Check out what the guys up North here have going on.

www.SRDayton.com