PDA

View Full Version : metal urologist on here?

djom1cincy
12-21-2010, 11:46 PM
Check because I have a question about chromium 6 and a s.s. cooking grill with it being in the news.

motox159
12-22-2010, 01:25 AM
I work for a chemical company, I'm not a chemist and really not the brightest crayon in the box but I do know that chromium is the most toxic/hazardous metal we deal with. I'll see what I can dig up for ya

Paul408Notch
12-22-2010, 07:57 AM
I think you mean a metallurgist.

A metal urologist would be interesting though. :rofl:

djom1cincy
12-22-2010, 08:06 AM
I'm a welder so I know its toxic and you shouldn't breath the fumes. I was wondering with all the s.s. cooking stuff out there if its toxic to cook with it. I made a nice s.s. cooking grate for my grill during the summer with s.s.angle and mesh screen. I was just hoping I'm not killing myself using it. I looked on the epa website and it says inhalation is bad but ingestion isn't. I was just wondering what someone thought of this. Thanks.

djom1cincy
12-22-2010, 08:08 AM
I think you mean a metallurgist.

A metal urologist would be interesting though. :rofl:
A few beers and Google search didn't straighten me out. I could have just ask my ball urologist.

Dirtyd0g
12-22-2010, 02:33 PM
Is a metal urologist better or worse than a metal proctologist? Someone find out and fill us in, I'm too big of a wuss to go see either one. I did see a urologist once and he cut my balls up.....it had to be done.
Alan

Black Horse
12-22-2010, 10:36 PM
If I remeber my information correctly, Chrome and Stainless steel have a strong molecular bonding property (one reason chrome is use to plate steel for wear properties). Under extreme high heat (like welding) portions of the material vaporizes creating the hazardous environment.