PDA

View Full Version : When does lazy become stupid?

85_SS_302_Coupe
06-16-2011, 08:09 AM
So i'm quitting my job, i put my 2 weeks in on Sunday and then i'm starting a new job. Now, i'm a person who takes pride in what i do, so i'm not the type who slacks off just because i'm going to quit anyways...BUT, it does afford me a little breathing room and at least time for a little experiment.

The people at my job...most of them anyway...are super lazy. It's not that they don't work hard, it's just that they don't ever do more than what is absolutely necessary, and in my eyes that's a form of laziness. So tonight, i did a little experiment just to humor myself. Here's the setup...

I work in retail, so there's a back room where all kinds of crap happens, but particularly there's a corrugated baler that everyone has to take their boxes to and crush them. There's a sort of aisle type entrance to get to the baler, which is about 5-6 feet wide...plenty of room to come and go as needed. People are always leaving crap in this aisle, which i frequently use and i'm constantly aggravated with moving their junk and/or carts of boxes that people just shove back there and take forever to deal with. So tonight i set up a little test just to see how lazy people really are, and it's very very simple. I opened a basic 6 foot ladder, and set it up about 10 feet from the baler off to one side of the aisle.

Now...anyone who has ever picked up an aluminum ladder knows, it takes you about 5 seconds at best to fold the thing up and lean it against the wall. People are constantly leaving ladders out that i end up putting away for them so i know this all too well. If the FIRST person who walked by this ladder would have just taken it upon themselves to fold the damn thing up and lean it against the wall, an entire night of stupid could have been avoided.