PDA

View Full Version : What kind of gas do you use?

Chunk94GT
10-25-2011, 02:49 AM
Like the title says I'm curious to know what kind of gas you use and why. I haul gas for a living and I get ask this question all the time and really get tired of it. I will start by saying I know where it all comes from you name the store or brand and I can tell ya where it came from and who delivered it so with that being said I have no real preference. Gauge shows Empty I fill up. I don't price chase I just fill up, and no I don't get free gas cause I haul it I still pay full price.

Josh

Mista Bone
10-25-2011, 03:00 AM
I now stay away from Speedway/Marathon gas. I've had rings stick on three different cars after sitting, enough that cars couldn't build compression to start.

Now it is Shell/BP/Thorton's/UDF Mobil. Although UDF is changing to their own "brand" of gas I'm willing to bet it will be Speedway/Marathon gas now.

I do price chase as I drive 250+ miles a day. I won't go out of my way though, I just use http://www.cincygasprices.com/index.aspx to find the cheapest gas along my route.

As long as the pump prices are around .60 a gallon above RBOB Harbor prices, nothing you can do.

For example, RBOB price is $2.69 a gallon delivered on NYSE. Factor in .50/gallon for taxes, then .10/gallon store profit...which gets ate up by debit/credit card fees. So if it is $3.29 at the pump, you have to roll with it.

But I did pay $3.139/gallon tonight. That .16/gallon might not seem much but at 10 gallons a day it works out to about $10 a week.

Chunk94GT
10-25-2011, 03:44 AM
I now stay away from Speedway/Marathon gas. I've had rings stick on three different cars after sitting, enough that cars couldn't build compression to start.

Now it is Shell/BP/Thorton's/UDF Mobil. Although UDF is changing to their own "brand" of gas I'm willing to bet it will be Speedway/Marathon gas now.