PDA

View Full Version : supercharged injection vs. supercharged carburated..

93notch
08-08-2012, 08:10 AM
whats the pros and cons, other than the ability to tune without software, of running a carbed sbf vs. fuel injection with a v1 supercharger? im stroking my small block and aiming for some low qtr mile #s and wonder if it would keep it alot more simple just switching to a blow through set up to make tuning easier. i dont know anything about running a blow through supercharger , and i dont know what changes ill have to make to the injected tune or components(injectors and so on) in adding cubes to the current set up. the car isnt a d/d but does get the saturday night cruise here and there so street manors arent the biggest concern.
.........the other option is to get rid of the v1 and spray 2 stages. i have plenty of experience with juice and wouldnt be afraid to go that route but i want to see where opinions would put their money to make some power

Adam@S&MMotorsports
08-08-2012, 09:06 AM
Are you looking at factory engine management or aftermarket? How much power are you trying to make?

93notch
08-08-2012, 10:56 AM
factory if i stay with the injection... msd digital if i go carb. fast stand alone is a little out of the budget . i wont go for insane power.. im using a factory block so itll stay conservative. if i run in the mid to low 10s in the qtr on pump gas ill be happy. the other option is to build a 408. i have 2 windsors sitting there but id rather stay with the 302 block and be able to reuse my trick flo heads and long tubes. frees up $$ to spend elsewhere in the motor

93notch
08-08-2012, 10:57 AM
its set up with factory now with a msd/vortec ign box and msd boost timing controler. the current tune waas done up in michigan by lideo

ibstrokin
08-09-2012, 12:59 AM