PDA

View Full Version : any truck drivers here

pegasus
08-27-2012, 03:46 AM
The guys I'm getting my cdl class a soon at some point I would like to be a owner/operator are there any good forums I should look up???

Chunk94GT
08-27-2012, 04:43 AM
I drive a truck, I don't do any forums for trucking, but my best advice is don't do it. With the economy the way it is, and the rise of fuel cost, you would have to own your own truck and trailer getting top dollar for your loads, with a good surcharge. I'm a company driver, always have been, and there are alot of good companies that offer good freight and pay for there load. Use there equipment and haul there loads for a decent pay and surcharge. If your just getting your CDL, learn the industry and to drive. It's more than just getting a trailer going to point A to B then doing it again.

jktruckin06
08-27-2012, 05:49 AM
What he said. Owner ops talk a lot of talk most of the time. Also what kind of home time do you want. I suspect most o/o stay on the road. In all reality, running linehaul (at night which blows), you could make nearly 6 figures once topped out with a good bid. That is working for someone. I'm at the low end, hauling local truckload and do 40 a year. Just think long and hard before you sign on a truck. Good luck

pegasus
08-27-2012, 02:08 PM
I know Im years away from owning a truck (hopefully things will get better by then) but i want to transport cars and haul grain on my days off from the fire dept when i get on a full time dept till then I just want somthing local

Chunk94GT
08-27-2012, 03:06 PM